White Mountain Honors 2020 Standouts at Banquet of Champions

N. WOODSTOCK, N.H. – White Mountain Motorsports Park honored the top drivers from the past racing season at the 2020 Banquet of Champions on Saturday, April 24. Racers, crew members, and families gathered at the track for a celebration of 2020, while also looking forward to the 2021 season opener on May 8.

For the sixth time in his career, St. Johnsbury’s Stacy Cahoon was recognized as the “King of the Mountain”. The 62-year-old overcame tough competition and the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic to earn the 2021 Late Model crown.

On August 22, Cahoon posted his first feature win in more than two years. By finishing in the top 10 of every feature, he was able to hold off Quinny Welch’s bid for a sixth straight crown. In an offseason interview, Cahoon said this championship meant the most for the people who have supported him during his 34 years of racing.

“To be able to give them something back by winning this championship is what it means to me,” Cahoon said. “It’s my gift back to them for anything that they’ve done for me in the past — and they’ve worked so hard to get me to this point — by rewarding them with this championship. I guess that’s what means the most to me, being able to give back to them for something they’ve worked so hard to enable me to do.”

White Mountain also honored the champions and top points finishers in its other local divisions. Barton’s Shane Sicard was officially crowned the Flying Tiger champion for the third straight year. Despite a huge increase in car counts and several tough competitors, Sicard again had a banner year. The veteran won five times and finished on the podium in 10 of the 12 point-counting events.

Despite coming up short to Sicard in the season-long standings, Hardwick’s Jaden Perry still was a champion in 2020. He captured the Triple Crown Series for the Flying Tigers by just two points over Sicard and Colin Cornell. Perry had a pair of second-place finishes and overcame a late tangle while battling for the win in the series finale.

Several special awards were also presented at the banquet. Gilman’s Jeff Marshall took home the 2020 WMMP Sportsmanship Award. Marshall had a respectful attitude all year even things didn’t go his way. He also never let adversity stop him from giving his all on the track.

Danville’s Laci Potter was named the 2020 Most Improved Driver. The 15-year-old struggled at the start of her first Flying Tiger season but made rapid gains. Her dominating August 8 victory was the only win for a female in White Mountain’s “adult” divisions.

Waterford’s Andy Hill picked up his trophy for the Late Model Rookie of the Year Award. Hill won two features and finished seventh in points in his first full year behind the wheel of a Late Model. He posted 10 top-10 finishes in a division that drew 20-plus cars at several events.

St. Johnsbury’s Kasey Beattie was the Flying Tiger Rookie of the Year. The 16-year-old, who is jumping to the Late Models for 2021, finished third in weekly points and fourth in Triple Crown points. Beattie was also the Rookie of the Year at Thunder Road.

White Mountain Motorsports Park opens the 2021 season on Saturday, May 8 at 6 p.m. The Flying Tigers go 75 laps in round one of the Triple Crown Series. A full card of racing is also scheduled for the Late Models, Strictly Stock Minis, Dwarf Cars, and Kids Trucks.