Local Softballers Receive Mountain League Honors

by Ken Brown

Northeast Kingdom – Several local high school softballers were awarded Mountain League honors last week for their outstanding seasons on the softball field this past spring.

Danville catcher Ava Marshia and third baseman Riley Cadieux led Mountain League First Team honors last week after outstanding seasons for the Lady Bears. The 2021 defending Division IV state champs finished their season at 11-3, making their seventh straight Final Four. Richford ended Danville’s season with a semifinal upset and to no surprise led all teams with seven First Team selections. Olivia Hatch, Mikayla Chagnon, Maddie Johnson, Ella Chagnon, Maddie Smith, Kyrielle Deuso, and Holly Raymond led Richford to an eleven win dream season that ended with a heartbreaking 7-6 loss to Division IV champs West Rutland in the title game. Rounding out the First Team were: Mychaela Watson (Peoples Academy), Felicity Sulham, Kyra Nelson, and Karli Blood of Blue Mountain, Williamstown’s Alexa Eaton, Northfield’s Paige Lagerstedt, and Sarah Coloney and Halle Rocheleau of BFA-Fairfax.

Craftsbury Academy (CA) outfielders Ade Gillespie and Sophia Augsberger led Mountain League Second Team selections after the upstart Lady Chargers earned their first playoff victory in nearly two decades. CA won four games on the season, including a 19-6 first round playoff win over Twinfield-Cabot in the first round of the Division IV tournament. The Lady Chargers were a mere club team just three years ago. Rounding out local Second Team selections were Emily Ward (PA), Danville’s Zoe Crocker, and Hazen Union’s Marta Mas Garrigo. The talented Hazen exchange student played for Peoples Academy this past spring.

Craftsbury Academy’s Savannah Boyce, Amelia Eagan, Sadie Skorstad, Alana Ulrich, and Jessalynn Gravel led Honorable Mention selections as this young Lady Charger squad will look to have a breakout season in 2023. Twinfield-Cabot’s Maddi Duke and Kimi DeBona were also selected after leading their team to their first season in the Mountain League without a single senior on the squad. Tiffany Rayne Parker and Emily Ward of Peoples Academy and Danville’s Colleen Flinn rounded out local Honorable Mention selections.