The Hardwick Gazette

Independent Local News Since 1889 | Hardwick, VT and Cabot • Calais • Craftsbury • Greensboro • Marshfield • Plainfield • Stannard • Walden • Wolcott • Woodbury

This Foursome was no Match for Seven Other Groups

courtesy photo
The newly crowned 2022 Tuesday Night Golf League champions were (left to right) George Gattone, Mike Clark, Pat Hussey, Rowdy Doyon and Jeremy Kaufmann. They proudly hold the recently purchased Mayor’s Cup, the new league rotating trophy. The Mayor’s Cup trophy was dedicated to former league standout Richard Brochu, who passed this past June.

GREENSBORO – It was a complete blowout win for the winning foursome when the Tuesday Night Golf League met last week at Mountain View Country Club.

Behind performances from Ivan Menard, Nate Brown and Adam Whitney, and a complementary evening from Rob Montgomery, this winning foursome was no match for the other seven assembled groups last Tuesday. With 35 golfers out on a 60-degree misty evening, the winners crushed the field in a game of points, posting a round of 14 plus points.

Menard was the leading money winner this evening, producing the most plus points of any golfer as he also tied for the low net honors. His round of 48 produced a net round of five-under par 30 and he was a full five points over his quota.

courtesy photo
Tuesday golfers who competed for the league championship were (left to right) Rob Montgomery, Dave Burnham, John Sperry and Tyler Rivard.

In a points game, golfers get one point for a bogey, two for a par and three for a birdie. Each golfer has to get a certain amount of points based on their scoring average.

Brown posted the second best low round of the night, firing a clean 39 to go plus four points. Meanwhile, Whitney followed suit with his 45, which also produced a plus four-point evening. Both players tied for second place in low net scoring with a 31 each.

Back in second place with seven plus points was the five some of George Gattone, Slade Farnham, Andy Lemieux, Mike Clark and Andy Hunt. Clark posted the night’s low round, firing a nifty 38 while compiling 15 points to go plus four. Farnham had a strong evening too, firing a 43 to also go plus four and netting out a 31.

courtesy photo
Competing for the golf league championship on Tuesday were the foursome of (left to right) Mike Cloutier, Slade Farnham, Brian Niemi and Steve Parker.

There was a logjam for third place with three groups posting rounds of plus four points. Dave Burnham and Bob Blake both carded rounds of plus three to help their five some land in third place. They were joined by Joe Mulligan and Dan Miko as well as Tyler Rivard, his first night playing in the league.

Tying them in third place was the foursome of Dennis Pudvah, Karl Ferland, Dan Gauthier and Dave Pudvah, who was also making his first appearance this season. Dennis Pudvah and Ferland were both plus three points.

The last group to end up in third place was Aaron Molleur, Brian Niemi, Colton Niemi and Dan Mencucci, who led this group with plus three points. Colton Niemi ended up plus two and Molleur plus one in a round of 39.

courtesy photo
The foursome of (left to right) Dan Gauthier, Andy Hunt, Dan Rogers and Xavier Hill competed on Tuesday for the league championship.

Tying Menard for the night’s low net title was Pat Hussey, whose round of 39 netted him a 30 and also left him at plus four points.

There was some great competition for closest to the pin on three, but the best of the bunch was Andy Hunt, who won by leaving his drive three feet, 10 inches from the pin. Over on five, Whitney took the closest title by driving to within 17 feet, five inches of the pin.

Up on eight, Dan Rogers dropped his approach to 10 feet, 11 inches to win closest in two shots. Then on nine, Clark added to his impressive evening by leaving his pitch 13 feet, 10 inches from the pin to win closest in two.

courtesy photo
Pursuing the Mayor’s Cup at the golf league championship were the foursome of (left to right) Greg Williams, Shayne Carr, Jefferson Tolman and Bill Richardson.
courtesy photo
The 2021 Tuesday night champs were (left to right) Karl Ferland, Aaron Molleur, Dan Mencucci and Ian Drown.
OpenWeatherMap requires API Key to work. Get API Key