The Hardwick Gazette

Independent Local News Since 1889 | Hardwick, VT and Cabot • Calais • Craftsbury • Greensboro • Marshfield • Plainfield • Stannard • Walden • Wolcott • Woodbury

Local Girls Earn Mountain League Soccer Honors

by Ken Brown

NORTHEAST KINGDOM – Several local student athletes capped off a stellar season on the pitch with All-Mountain League selections last week.

Hazen Union, Twinfield-Cabot, and Craftsbury Academy (CA) had five total First Team selections last week after outstanding soccer seasons by several players.

Sadie Skorstad earned her selection for the Lady Chargers after showing her versatility all over the field for first year head coach Patrick Houle. Skorstad was a junior captain and will lead a talented returning core for an up and coming CA squad.

Caitlyn Davison and Alexis Christensen were also First Team selections for Hazen Union after a strong finish to the season. Christensen turned it on late for the Lady Cats in her senior campaign, helping them win four of six down the stretch to end the regular season. Davison made magic for head coach Harry Besett’s squad during their hot streak with multiple game savers and game winners.

Ginger Klarich and Aydyn Paige were also selected after the Lady Trojans struggled this past season when a year of promise turned into a rebuild after transfers and injuries. Klarich ended her senior campaign with strong play up front and Paige will return a solid defensive core for head coach Seth Wilmott that is stellar in the back.

Danville’s Lilah Hall and Sloane Morse were also First Team selections after leading the Lady Bears to a 7-8-1 record and run to the Division IV quarterfinals.

BFA-Fairfax and Missisquoi Valley led all teams with 10 total First Team selections and combined for 26 wins on the season. Coach of the Year honors went to BFA’s Bill Ormerod. Player of the Year honors went to BFA’s Ava Ardovino. Ardovino torched defenses across the Mountain League this past fall, setting the all-time school scoring record along the way. Shanneal Unwin took home Keeper of the Year honors after leading the Missisquoi Valley defense to 10 shutouts on the season. Rounding out First Team selections were: Blue Mountain’s Jordan Alley and Lauren Joy, Enosburg’s Gabriell Spaulding and Dasis Gabree, Richford’s Kyrielle Deuso, Mikayla Chagnon, and Emma Fadden, Jean Heintz (Winooski), and Natalie Spear (Oxbow).

Twinfield-Cabot’s Alice McLane, Camryn Hoffman, Aleacya Moshinskie, and Ida Astick led Second Team selections and give optimism for a rebound in 2023 with a talented core of underclassmen.

Hazen’s Maverick Murphy, Lily Castle, and Isabelle Gouin were also selected after strong seasons.

Gouin joined another talented freshman in Anika Leahy of Craftsbury Academy after showing their elite speed this past fall. Lilli Klark, Jasmine Reason, and Hazel Abetti of Danville were also selected. Hazen’s Tessa Luther, Gabby Stanciu, Bri Holbrook, and Aster Watkevich were honorable mentions.

OpenWeatherMap requires API Key to work. Get API Key